亚洲金三角大象基金会久负盛名。

采访大象基金会创始人约翰·罗伯特 (JOHN ROBERTS)

目前,基金会正在悉心照料 20 多头大象,它们均解救自泰国人潮汹涌的城市街头,此外,基金会还与象夫社团一起实现经济独立,出资对大象在治愈患有自闭症的儿童的过程中所起的作用进行了调研,同时,基金会还保护了柬埔寨豆蔻山脉中的一片小森林,该片小森林面积达 18,000 公顷,是供大象活动的狭长地带。

到底谁才是基金会背后的主导力量?他的初衷又是什么?他是如何开启这段保护大象之旅的,以及下一步的计划是什么?是不是所有的大象都应该在野外环境中自由自在的生活呢?这些庞然大物最让人诧异的一点是什么呢?只有大象基金会的创始人约翰·罗伯特 (John Roberts) 才能告诉您这些问题的答案。下面就是我们对约翰采访的一个简短摘录:

 

问:您第一次接触大象是在什么时候?

约翰·罗伯特:1999 年 10 月,在尼泊尔奇旺国家公园的老虎顶丛林小屋前的草坪上,那是我第一次接触到大象。大约三个月后,我在露营地的阳台上看到了第一头野生大象。

 

问:是什么让您下定决心,将一生奉献给大象和环境保护的,其中的转折点是什么?

约翰·罗伯特:我从来没有做过这样的决定。大学毕业后,我就开始四处旅行,我曾在西德州的瓜达卢佩山国家公园从事志愿者活动,之后又在澳大利亚北部的一个公园做了一年志愿者。这两年中,我开始意识到我再也不能“正常”的生活了 — 我花了很长一段时间才弄明白,原来我向游客介绍野生动物的能力,不仅可以用于环境保护,而且还可以让自己享受到一种绿色健康的生活。

 

问:这是您所期望的吗?

约翰·罗伯特:我没有任何期望!任何时候,我都没有专门做出过计划,但是,这恰好可以让基金会的管理方式与时俱进以及自己的生活更加灵活。

 

问:如果再给您一次机会,您还会这样做吗?

约翰·罗伯特:当然!

 

问:很多人认为大象就应该生活在野外环境中,人类不应该骑大象。您能简单陈述一下您的看法吗?

约翰·罗伯特:大象当然应该生活在野外环境中,这样它们就可以自由自在的生活,继续扮演它们在生态系统中的角色。这也是为什么我们基金会花费大量人力和财力,来使得大象在野外环境中生活的原因 — 我们与泰国三个国家公园签立了谅解备忘录,用于保护野生大象,以及我们位于柬埔寨的 18,000 公顷的森林,大象可以在里面无忧无虑的生活。

泰国大约有 3,500 头非野生大象,我们同样需要找到一种照料它们的方法。仅仅把它们放回到野生环境中,并不意味着它们就是野生大象了,因此我们精心策划了一个旅行活动,帮助大象更好地适应野外环境 — 大象们可以成群结队的四处散步、认识一些新朋友,在这里,大象们过着一种丰富多彩的生活。同时,我们的游客还可以借机了解一下大象,以及象夫的日常生活。大象们都乐在其中:人们似乎有一个误解,认为被囚禁的大象,无论得到什么样的照料,其生活一定是非常悲惨的。我必须要说明的一点就是,在与大象生活的这 16 年中,我没有发现任何可以证明这一观点的证据 — 我确实也看到过一些大象受到虐待,我也永远不会试图把大象囚禁起来,但是,对于那些已经被囚禁的大象而言,能够让它们被囚禁的生活过的衣食无忧,无忧无虑,那么我还是可以完全接受的。

 

问:如果让您分享一点大象鲜为人知的一面,那会是什么呢?

约翰·罗伯特:我不知道!它们一生要换六次牙?象鼻中有约 40,000 块肌肉,且没有骨骼?大象有太多鲜为人知的东西了,实在是非常难选择。现在最重要的是,在南非,每年为了获取象牙,有 40,000 多头大象被杀害(顺便说一下,40,000 几乎是现存亚洲象的总数了)— 必须要制止这种行为。所以,请大家不要购买象牙!

 

问:丛林中令您印象最深的是什么?

约翰·罗伯特:对我来说,与当地非常棒的追踪者在一起,看着他们在丛林中循着记号,徒步前行,然后寻找到野生动物的踪迹……我可以长时间的站在那里观察野生大象,这令我印象非常深刻。能够短时间的观察一下食肉动物,如老虎或豹子,也是非常令人难忘的。

 

问:您的家人和您生活在一起,您能跟我们说一下您的家庭生活吗?

约翰·罗伯特:我的妻子来自泰国北部,因此这里是她的家。我们还有一个 4 岁大的,金发碧眼的儿子,可以流利的说出泰国北部方言(对于一个 4 岁的孩子来说,已经……),很容易会让不认识他的人感到诧异。我们在一小片土地上(我们花了好长的时间才整理出一个草坪)建造了一座太阳能木屋。我的妻子喜欢吃水果和辛辣的食物,所以我们栽种了很多果树和辣椒。

 

问:在金三角,您最喜欢的娱乐活动是什么?

约翰·罗伯特:非工作时间吗?我喜欢坐在自家的阳台上,喝一杯醇香的啤酒,欣赏日落美景,我非常享受这一份宁静 — 但是,由于情况特殊,露营地或酒店的事情会处理到很晚,所以我很少有时间可以这样做。但是,值得高兴的是我还是可以这样做的。

 

问:基金会下一步的计划是什么?会向哪方面投资呢?

约翰·罗伯特:由于我们基金会非常的灵活,且具有科学依据,因此基金会可以做出一些其能力之外的事情,且可以弥补政府保护工作和国际非政府组织之间的差距。有一些项目,如正强化目标培训班为患有自闭症的儿童而设立的泰国大象治疗项目,以及上述提到的柬埔寨豆蔻山脉大象活动区,我希望可以继续从事这些项目。当然,我们也会继续照料那些露营地中的大象,并留心其他可以获得长期关怀的大象。

最重要的是,我们要具备大量可利用的移动基金,这样在大象护理/环保方面发生紧急情况时,我们可以迅速做出反应。长期项目是非常好的,我们也会继续坚持做,但是目前,真正缺少的就是资金,有了这些资金,我们就可以解决一些特殊问题,此外,要使得保护区免受非法狩猎,或要长期解决人与象的冲突问题,还需要进行长期融资。

我们仍然希望可以继续走在关怀大象的前列;接下来的几年时间,我们会把大量的资金投入到现场项目中,让我们的大象更加自由自在的生活。为了确保下一代不再需要大象慈善机构,我们还会进一步投资教育,包括对在素林班塔卡侬村 (Ban Ta Klang) 的象夫的孩子们进行教育,以及泰国学校的普通环保教育工作。

 

预订热线+86 400 148 7200 客房预订
地址
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Thailand
P.O. Box 18, Chiang Saen Post Office
Chiang Rai 57150, Thailand
地理优势

清莱是泰国最北面的省份,是泰北重镇,也是金三角的起点。这里是缅甸、老挝与泰国三国交界,湄公河流经此处 。中国的客人可以从昆明直飞清莱,或者从曼谷或清迈转机。 

周边景区


  • 公里
  • 大象骑行与象夫培训
    0 公里
  • 金三角短途旅行
    3.8 公里
  • 鸦片博物馆
    3.8 公里
人数 2 房间数 1 入住日期 01/26/2015 - 预订
成人-+
儿童-+
多个房间+
房间 1
成人-+
儿童-+
x
房间 2
成人-+
儿童-+
x
+

Make a Reservation
Make a Reservation

When will you be staying with us?

Open Calendar
Open Calendar

Numbers of Nights: 1

Number of Rooms: 1

How many guests?

Adults

Children (10-18 yrs)

Availability cannot be determined at this time.
Please select dates and click "Find Rooms" to determine availability.
Available
No Availability
Restrictions may apply
Room 1:

Adults

Children (10-18 yrs)

Room 2:

Adults

Children (10-18 yrs)

Remove
Room 3:

Adults

Children (10-18 yrs)

Remove
Room 4:

Adults

Children (10-18 yrs)

Remove
+ Add Another Room

To add more than 4 rooms, please call 66 2 207-8900. Toll Free Telephone Numbers By Country

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

We’re sorry, we have no individual rooms or suites available online to accommodate that number of guests. We would be happy to accommodate your group in multiple rooms. Please increase the number of rooms and reduce the number of guests in each room.

If you require assistance, please contact the Resort directly at 66 2 207-8900 or our Toll-free numbers by country .

Book now with UnionPay

Four Seasons Tented Camp

Golden Triangle Thailand

Local Time

Local Temperature

25 °C / 77 °F

Meet John Roberts

Founder of the Elephant Foundation

The Golden Triangle Asian Elephant Foundation has many meaningful feathers in its cap. Among other things, it is currently caring for more than 20 elephants rescued from Thailand’s crowded city streets, working with the mahouts’ families to build financial independence, funding research on how elephants could help children with autism, and protecting an 18,000-hectare elephant corridor of standing forest in the Cardamom Mountains in Cambodia.

So, who is the driving force behind the Foundation? What is his motivation? How did this journey begin – and what’s next? Should all elephants roam in the wild? What’s the most surprising thing about these majestic creatures? No one can answer these questions better than John Roberts himself, the founder of the Elephant Foundation.

 

Here is a short excerpt from our interview with John:

Q: When was your first encounter with elephants?

JR: I saw my first elephant on the lawn of Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge in Chitwan National Park in Nepal in October 1999. I saw my first wild one from the balcony of the tented camp there about three months later.

 

Q: What was the turning point that made you decide to devote your life to elephants and conservation?

JR: I don’t think I ever decided. I travelled after University, volunteering in Guadalupe Mountains National Park in West Texas, then did a year in Parks in Northern Australia. It was sometime during those two years that I realised I couldn’t go back to a ‘normal’ life – but it still took a long time before it became clear that my ability to explain the wild to guests could be used not only to further conservation but also to make myself a sustainable living.

 

Q: Did it turn out to be what you expected?

JR: The trick is to not have expectations! At no point did I specifically have this mapped out, but it has allowed me to be flexible both in my management of the Foundation – reacting to a changing world – and in my life.

 

Q: If you had another chance, would you do it all over again?

JR: Yes!

 

Q: Many people say elephants should run in the wild and that we should not ride elephants. Can you explain your views briefly?

JR: Certainly elephants should all be wild, where they’re free to make their own decisions and perform ecosystem services. This is the reason a large amount of the Foundation’s money and effort is spent keeping wild elephants wild – we have MOU’s in three Thai National Parks to protect wild elephants and our own 18,000 hectares of forest in Cambodia where they roam free.

 

Thailand, however, has around 3,500 non-wild elephants and we also need to find ways to look after them. There isn’t enough wild to put them back into, so a well-planned tourism activity such as ours is a great way to do that – they get to walk around as a group, meet new people and lead a rich and varied elephant life, while our guests get to learn about elephants and a little of what it is like to be a mahout. The elephants enjoy it: there seems to be a modern misconception that captive elephants live entirely in misery and fear no matter how you look after them. I have to say that in 16 years of living among elephants I have seen no evidence of this – I have seen elephants looked after badly and I would never seek to bring a wild elephant into captivity but I’m entirely comfortable with this as a way to keep those already in captivity fed, watered and amused.

 

Q: If you have to share one little known fact about elephants, what would it be?

JR: I don’t know! That they have six sets of teeth throughout their lives? That their trunk has around 40,000 muscles and no bones? There are so many little known facts about them that it is hard to choose. Most importantly right now, as many as 40,000 a year are being killed in Africa (40,000 incidentally is close to the total number of Asian elephants in existence) for their ivory – this has to stop. So please, don’t buy ivory!

 

Q: What are the most memorable moments for you in the jungle?

JR: For me, any time I’m with really good local trackers, watching them follow signs in the jungle and then coming across wildlife when on foot…I can stand and watch wild elephants for hours. Shorter sightings of predators such as tigers or leopards are equally memorable.

 

Q: Your family lives with you, tell us a little about your home life.

JR: My wife is from Northern Thailand so this is her home. Our four-year-old son is blonde but speaks Northern Thai fluently (for a four-year-old, that is), so he is prone to surprising those who don’t know him. We live on a little piece of land (whose lawn takes too long to cut) in a solar-powered wooden house and that’s about it. My wife loves fruit and spicy food so we plant a lot of fruit trees and grow a lot of chillies.

 

Q: What is your favorite pastime in the Golden Triangle?

JR: Non-work? I like sitting down on my balcony at home, with a glass of good beer at sunset, and enjoying the peace and quiet – doubly special as I don’t often get to do that as there’s usually something to be done around camp or the hotels until after sunset. Still, it’s good to know it can be done.

 

Q: What's next for the Foundation? Where is money going to go?

JR: The Foundation has been able to punch above it’s weight so far by being flexible, science based and able to fill the gaps between Government protection work and those of international NGO’s. There are some projects like the Positive Reinforcement Target Training Workshops, the Thai Elephant Therapy Project for autistic kids, and the aforementioned Cambodian Cardamom Elephant Corridor that I hope will always be with us. We will of course continue to look after those elephants we have on site and keep an eye out for others that can be sustainably helped.

 

Most of all, though, we need to keep a large mobile fund available that will allow us to respond very quickly to elephant care/conservation emergencies as and when they occur. Long-term projects are great and we’ll continue to keep the ones we have but what is really missing from the elephant world at the moment are funds that can respond quickly to solve a particular problem or to protect an area against poaching or address a Human Elephant Conflict issue for long enough that longer-term funding can be raised.

 

We also want to remain at the cutting edge of elephant care; the next few years will see large investment in on-site projects to allow our elephants even more freedom. We’d like to ensure there is no need for elephant care charities for the next generation, so we’ll also be investing further in education both for the mahouts’ kids in Ban Ta Klang in Surin and general Conservation Education work in Thai schools.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

No location is currently selected. Please change the location and click "FIND ROOMS" to try again.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

Reservation request cannot be processed. Please correct expected room occupancy information to specify at least one adult

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

Reservation request cannot be processed. Please correct expected room occupancy information to specify at least one adult for the room #

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

The number of nights is less than the minimum allowed for property or rate plan you have selected.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

The number of nights exceeds the maximum allowed for property or rate plan you have selected.

Thank you for your reservation enquiry

Reservations for more than 28 nights cannot currently be booked online. Please contact us to book your extended stay.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

Please enter a check-in date.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

Please enter a check-out date.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

The check in date you have selected is in the past. Please change your dates and try again.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

We apologize. We are unable to book reservations more than 12 months from the current date.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

Check-out date is before check-in date.

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

We apologize but the can only accept reservations starting . Please correct your check in date and try again

We noticed a problem with the reservation details

This offer must be reserved days in advance of your arrival. Please change your dates and try again.

Your Booking session is over.

Your Booking session is over, please start a new Booking flow or go to My Reservations page.

Cancel reservation

Reservation cannot be canceled online after the cancellation deadline has passed. Please contact us for further information.

Cancel reservation

Reservation cannot be canceled online within 48 hours of check-in date. Please call 1 (800) 819-5053 for assistance.

Change Dates

Reservation dates cannot be modified online after the cancellation deadline has passed. Please contact us for further information.

Change Dates

Reservation dates cannot be modified online within 48 hours of check-in date. Please call 1 (800) 819-5053 for assistance.

Modify reservation

We are unable to modify this reservation.

Note About Your Profile Data

Thank you for signing in to the new fourseasons.com and welcome to the new site. The profile data you have previously provided requires a few small updates.

Note: Profile updates will be required prior to making a reservation.